The centrepiece of the website is the country profile. Each profile has six sections:

  • Constitutional provisions
  • Treaty adherence
  • National legislation on use of force (by police and prison officers)
  • Police oversight
  • Caselaw
  • Downloads (of key instruments and jurisprudence).

The website is managed by the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa (ICLA) and the Centre for Human Rights of the Faculty of Law of the University of Pretoria in South Africa. The project manager is Professor Stuart Maslen with Professor Christof Heyns and Dr Thomas Probert. We would like to thank the following doctoral students at the University of Pretoria for their research in support of the repositary: Alero Fenemigho, Dumisani Gandhi, Anne Ireri, Andries Moekoa, Brenda Mwale, Dagnachew B. Wakene, and Daniel Walyemera.

We would like to thank the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights at the University of Oxford for its research, and in particular Grace Attwell, Alex Brunstad, Thomas Howard, Maryam Mohammed Jaafar, Gilbert Lim, Robert Marsh, Sasha Martiyanov, Alessandra Prezipiorski, Rebecca Reilly, Mohini Tangri, and Tsvetelina Van Benthem. The research is coordinated by Dr Annelen Micus, Head of Programmes of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights.

We would also like to thank the following student at the Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights: Carolina Beghelli.

We would also like to thank El Hadji Dia and Anne Bennett, Deputy Head, Sub-Saharan Africa Division, at the Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces (DCAF).

Please send any comments on the content of the website to